Team Canada names Spengler Cup roster

20 Canadian’s including some fresh new faces will be looking to make an impression before the 2018 Pyeongchang Olympics.

Looking to repeat as champions for a third year in a row, Team Canada has bolstered their lineup with three NCAA players in an uncommon roster shakeup. Andrew Ebbett, David McIntyre, Mason Raymond, Nick Spaling and Maxim Noreau return from Canada’s 2016 Spengler Cup winning team. Notable college players include Jake Evans, 1996 born forward who captains the University of Notre Dame. Through 20 games this season Evan’s has 28 points. Chicago Blackhawks draft pick Dylan Sikura also joins the team from Northeastern and defenceman Brandon Hickey, captain at Boston University will add some slick skating and youth to the Canadian blue line.

In goal, Canada will have Kevin Poulin (Medvescak Zagreb) and Barry Brust (HC Fribourg-Gottéron) between the pipes. In the Channel One Cup, Brust posted a GAA of 2 and a SV% of .900.

Canada will start their quest for a 15th title December 26 against Mountfield HK (Czech).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s